lisa-knits's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday Update

Well, it's Monday, and I'm trapped in front of the PC again for the week. I find that I don't update on weekends, because it's too much of a bother to go downstairs, boot everything up, type in my entry, yada yada yada, while dividing my attention between the laundry and the kids. But, when I'm here at the office, with nothing else to do but sit here in front of the pc, waiting for our stupid financial system to get its act together and allow me to do actual work, I have plenty of update time.

I did plenty of knitting over the weekend. All on the alpaca raglan for me. I'm knitting this circularly, from the bottom up. I had already finished the body, and started the first sleeve. After what seemed like an eternity of working on one sleeve, I finished the first one on Friday night, and the second sleeve took all of Saturday. Then I joined the sleeves to the body and have started the yoke decreases.

The bad news is that I think I'm going to run out of yarn. I bought this absolutely gorgeous 15 ounce/1250 yard hank of 100% alpaca at Stitches East in 2002 from Ellen's 1/2 Pint Farm, which came with a pattern for the raglan. I'm making the largest size, and according to the pattern, I should have enough. I'm using the recommended needles, and getting the recommended gauge, but I really don't think I'll have enough. I have about 20 more rows to go before the collar, and very little yarn.

So, I'm going to see if I can get some more, and hopefully it will match closely enough. It was a natural, undyed charcoal color, so dyelot should not be an issue. It's either that, or rip back and make the body shorter, which I really don't want to do.

11:09 a.m. - March 03, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dangerspouse
milkmaid
idiot-milk
ann-frank