lisa-knits's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More on L's Raglan

Well, it's finally done. The blue smurf finger inducing raglan for L. I wove in all the ends last night, and then soaked it in a vinegar/water solution for about 2 hours. Then I tossed it in the wash (it is a superwash yarn) on the gentle cycle and crossed my fingers. I'd meant to toss a dye magnet sheet into the wash with it, but forgot about it until the first rinse.

On the first rinse (without the dye magnet) the water coming out was a deep blue, but on the next rinse, the water was clear. So, it seems that whatever loose dye was in the yarn was rinsed clean or caught in the dye magnet on the first go round.

After the wash cycle, I pulled it out and spread it on the mesh sweater dryer, and pulled and patted it into shape. It feels a lot softer and I think it may have lengthened a little bit. By the time I get home from work today, it should be dry, or nearly so, and I can toss it into the dryer on fluff. Then I can take a picture of it, and maybe even one of L wearing it.

Speaking of L, she's tickled pink, because I got tickets for her (and us) to go see Good Charlotte and New Found Glory in May. Sort of an early birthday. Her best friend isn't into those groups, so she's asking one of her "guy friends" instead. Mom and Dad will be chaperoning, probably from a distance if she has her way.

I also worked on my sister's socks last night, and have about 2 inches done. It's nice to get back into the soothing rhythm of a sock. Something mindless and fairly quick is an excellent change of pace.

1:54 p.m. - February 27, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dangerspouse
milkmaid
idiot-milk
ann-frank