lisa-knits's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've Got The Blues. . .

. . .on my fingers, that is. My hands are now a lovely bruised shade of blue from the dye in the yarn for L's sweater. My fingers look like they've been dipped in ink. I've been scrubbing them, trying to get the dye out, but it seems to be embedded in my skin now.

I had spent quite a bit of time last night, figuring out how much yarn I would need for the seed stitch rows. I measured how much yarn it took me for one regular row, then added a couple of inches. I multiplied that by the number of seed stitch rows I wanted to do, then added on three more rows worth of yarn for the bind-off area. (I added more, rather than just one rows worth, just to be on the safe side.) Once I figured out how much I would need for the border (being extra generous), I measured that from the free end of the skein, and tied a slip knot in the yarn. I had planned to knit in plain stockinette until I reached that point (or as close as I could at the end of a round), and then knit the border and bind off.

Well, that had been the plan. L tried on the sweater last night, and decided that it was "long enough" already. So now I just have the few remaining rows of seed stitch left. I guess this way, I'll have extra yarn to lengthen the sleeves, or mend it if necessary.

I'm so happy to be almost done. Tonight I'll do the vinegar/water soak, then wash with a dye magnet, and hopefully she'll be able to wear it tomorrow.

I brought along the yarn to work on my sister's socks today on my lunch hour. I haven't worked on socks for a while, so it will be a nice change from sweaters and shawls.

11:04 a.m. - February 25, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dangerspouse
milkmaid
idiot-milk
ann-frank