lisa-knits's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More Snow Days

Well, we're still snowed in here in Virginia. The kids have no school, and the government is closed, so I have no work. The plows have made the attempt at clearing our street, and we can actually leave the neighborhood now.

I've spent most of the weekend knitting and ignoring the kids and cats killing each other. We have friends in from NYC on their way to Hilton Head, so the house is a bit crowded.

I've worked on the edging to the Sheep Shawl, and have done a few of the points already. I also worked on a few rows on the sleeve of my alpaca raglan.

Most of my knitting time, though, has been on L's raglan. I'm sort of designing it as it goes along. I started out using the pattern from Woolworks, and a pattern that I had printed out from an older edition of Knitnet (when it was still free), as well as using information I learned in a class at Stitches East, called "Complete from the Top Down", taught by Barry Klein of Trendsetter yarn.

I wanted to do the sweater top down, so that I can knit until I run out of yarn, because L wants to have a long sweater. However, I was having problems working any of the patterns. So, I used the rolled collar from the Knitnet pattern, and then winged it from there. I'm getting a gauge of 5 stitches to the inch, so I figured out how many stitches I'd need based on L's measurements, adn went from there. Once I got the raglans done, I put the sleeve stitches on holders and cast on an inch worth of stitches for the underarms and continued knitting the body in the round. Once I'd had about an inch of the body done, I stopped that to do the sleeves. I am doing the sweater in plain stockinette, until the edges of the sleeves and body. Then I'm putting in about 4 rows of seed stitch, just so the edges don't roll.

I have the yoke and one sleeve done, and have about an inch of the second done already. I think I'll be able to finish this sweater by the end of the week at this pace.

The downside is that the yarn bleeds on my hands. I have to stop every so often, and scrub the dye off my hands.

Right now, the guests are getting ready to brave the roads and hit the mall. I'm off to clean carpets.

2:41 p.m. - February 18, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dangerspouse
milkmaid
idiot-milk
ann-frank