lisa-knits's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Trees

So, being the bad "Alternative Mom" (which is what K calls me), I didn't work on her gloves last night.

Instead, I worked on the Sheep Shawl again. I now have 116 rows out of 210 done on the main body. I am 18 rows away from finishing the "Orchard Lace" (trees) and then I'm on to the "Village Lace" which looks like little houses. I found another weak spot in the yarn, and again used the Russian join to fix it. I really like the way it looks. You have to focus to find the mend.

This morning, I was going to wear a (formerly) favorite store-bought chenille sweater. Until I put it on, and discovered that large portions of the chenille had shed away from the binder core and left see-through bald patches all over the sweater. It's a vivid lesson on why chenille needs to be knit at a tighter tension and why you should always buy the best quality chenille you can afford.

I have some chenille that I was planning to use on a sweater from an older edition of KnitNet (can't remember the name of the sweater, or which issue off the top of my head), but I plan to knit a swatch and wash it several times before I knit the sweater. If the swatch doesn't hold up well, I won't waste my time on knitting a whole sweater.

In totally non-knitting related news, we're planning on adding two more 4-legged members to the household. We already have two: Chevy and Mewp. On Saturday, once our vet gives the all clear, we will be adding Toulouse and Zelig, a pair of 6 year old Cornish Rex cats to the mix. Their owner has to give them up, and asked our vet (who specializes in cats) to place them, and they had arrived at the same time B was there to pick up Chevy's medication. We've been thinking about adding a cat or kitten or two to the househould since our eldest cat, Seatou, passed away in March of last year. Dr. K. had been keeping an eye out for us and made sure B knew they were there and available. There are actually 4 cats, but we don't want a full scale riot in our house with six cats. Four will fill it quite nicely. The kids are excited, and we made sure we let the existing cats smell the new cats all over us when we got home last night. Today I've been researching how to socialize cats into your existing "family", so hopefully things will go smoothly.

11:55 a.m. - January 29, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dangerspouse
milkmaid
idiot-milk
ann-frank