lisa-knits's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Splitty

So, I'm working on the fingerless gloves for K, using Brown Sheep Wildfoote sock yarn. I hate this yarn. Maybe hate is too strong a word. I know I won't be using it again, that's a definite. It splits terribly, so it's difficult to knit quickly. It's also much thinner than most sock yarns I've worked with, and I had to drop down to size 1 needles to get a nice feeling fabric -- not too loose or too tight. I'm a tight knitter, and normally use size 2 or 2.5 on most sock yarns, so dropping down to the 1's was a pain.

I did a search on Wiseneedle and most of the posters there seem to agree about the splitting. I also entered my own review of the yarn while I was there.

I'm hoping that the glove will soften after washing, also, because right now it feels rather rough and scratchy to my hands. Maybe I'm just spoiled by the Lorna's Laces I was using for B's gloves.

But, K did specifically pick this yarn out, so I will finish them up for her. I'm trying to get them done by Tuesday, but that doesn't really look possible.

Speaking of B's gloves, I realized yesterday after I finished darning in all the ends and putting away the needles and such, that I made one glove using size 2 needles and one glove using size 2.5 needles. I couldn't figure out why I was getting bigger gaps at the joining of each finger, and why the fabric felt a little off during the second glove. I just shrugged it off as my tension being looser as a result of becoming more familiar with the pattern. It wasn't until I was putting the needles back in their case, that I realized I'd used the larger size on the second glove. B says they fit ok, though, and the size difference isn't huge. So we'll leave it be.

12:25 p.m. - January 27, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dangerspouse
milkmaid
idiot-milk
ann-frank