lisa-knits's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DerbyDay

Today was a good knitting day, I think. I'm finally making progress on B's second glove, and I actually hope to have it done this weekend. I've got the pinky finger done, and most of the ring finger. So, it's conceivable that I can finish it tomorrow.

I also worked on another mitered square. I used the following method on this one: Row 1 - cast on 81 stitches, k39, sk2p, k39; Row 2 - knit. Repeated these two rows, knitting one fewer stitch before and after the sk2p on each row until there was only one stitch left, and bound off. (Make sense?) I don't really see any difference between the shaping of this one and the one I did earlier, and wonder if there is a reason to use one method instead of the other. I'm going to do a little more looking around web sites to see if I can find a reason. I haven't bought any books on mitered knitting, and I probably should check the books I have on hand for information as well.

I did most of my knitting today at the Cub Scouts Pinewood Derby this morning. A roomful of boys with bed-head and hat-head. :) J had a great time, and won the "Rambo Award" for his car, due to the Army man glued to the front of the car. He had such a good time, but got a ticket for "jaywalking" and "excessive celebrating after losing" from the County Police Officer they had on had as part of their community relations efforts. As a "fine", he has to do a good turn for someone else.

All in all, a great way to spend a Saturday.

11:00 p.m. - January 25, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dangerspouse
milkmaid
idiot-milk
ann-frank