lisa-knits's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ambitions

I restarted J's Wallaby using size 8 needles for the ribbing, and size 10 for the body, rather than the recommended 6 & 8. It's much closer to the called for gauge this time, and the feel is better, too. I think on the 8's, it would have been able to stand on its own. I have finished the ribbing, and about 3 inches of the body. J has requested no front pocket, and is trying to talk me out of sleeves. Not gonna happen.

Yesterday, I listed all the projects I have in progress at the moment, which made me think of all the things I have on hand that I want to work on, or items that I've promised to others.

So, here's the list, in no particular order:

  1. "Maple Leaves" lace scarf from HeartStrings FiberArts in the Deep Purple colorway
  2. "Kilimanjaro Kat Shawl" in pewter grey Jaggerspun Zephyr
  3. Knitting Pure and Simple Henley T Shirt in a cotton/acrylic blend
  4. Machine knit shell from my hand-dyed cotton chenille for L's friend K
  5. Fingerless gloves in black Regia for K
  6. Socks for my sister, C, who really likes the two pair I've already made her
  7. More socks for me from stash

I think that's more than enough to keep me busy for quite some time. I have high ambitions for my knitting, but don't always get everything completed.

I think I get that from my Mom. Mom has the "craft gene", as I call it. If it's a craft, she's probably tried it. She knits, crochets, sews, quilts, embroiders, cross-stitches and has tried candlewicking, candle-making, stained glass making, and a ton more than I can think of at the moment. But, she's not known for finishing things. Her UFO and WIP piles could take up an entire room. So I'm trying hard not to go down that slippery slope.

9:38 a.m. - Friday, Jan. 03, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dangerspouse
milkmaid
idiot-milk
ann-frank