lisa-knits's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Projects

So, I started two new projects on New Year's Eve, and I've already ripped one completely out and restarted it. I was working on the Wallaby for J, and checked my gauge, only to discover I was off by at least 3 or 4 stitches. There was no way that it was going to fit him. So, I ripped it all out, and started it all over using a size 8 needle for the ribbing, instead of the recommended size 6. We'll see how that goes. The yarn is not my favorite to work with, since it is acrylic, and I've been spoiled by the "good stuff" of wool sock yarns, but it was specifically picked out by J.

Since it's the new year and all, I thought I'd list all my unfinished projects, starting with the oldest (pictures open in new windows):

  1. Caron Acrylic, cream baby blanket; Project Linus; begun 2000; 50% finished
  2. Red Heart Baby Soft, pink & white baby blanket; Project Linus; begun 2001; 75% finished
  3. OnLine Linie 107(?), grey tank top sweater; me; begun 2002; completed; hated; restarted; finished March 12, 2003; new picture to come
  4. Ellen's 1/2 Pint Farm, dark charcoal grey alpaca raglan; me; begun November 2002; 50% finished

  5. Lorna's Laces Mineshaft gloves; B; begun December 2002; finished January 2003
  6. Lion Brand Pound of Love, red Wonderful Wallaby; J; begun New Year's Eve2002; finished February 2003
  7. Lion Brand Polar Spun, royal blue sweater; friend's baby; begun New Year's Eve 2002; 20% finished

  8. Froehlich Wolle Blauband Maxi-Ringel, blue & red socks; me; begun summer 2002; 50% finished
  9. Strapaz Ringel Color, blue and purple multi socks; me; begun October 2002; 50% finished

The Project Linus baby blankets are things I work on when the mood strikes me. I do a few rows now and then, but haven't been giving them serious attention.

The tank top sweater for me was actually finished at one point, but I didn't like the way the shoulders and edgings looked. I started by just taking out the edgings and the shoulders, then forgot what needle size I was using, so frogged the whole thing and started fresh. I'm knitting it in the round, and have the body done, as well as the back, and am just about finished with the front neckline. Then it's a 3 needle bind off on the shoulders and do the edgings. That's where it all went to hell last time, so we'll see what happens this time.

I like having various projects active, so that when I get bored or frustrated with one, I can go and pick up something else until I'm ready to go back to the other things. It keeps me interested, and everything gets finished eventually.

10:00 a.m. - Thursday, Jan. 02, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dangerspouse
milkmaid
idiot-milk
ann-frank