lisa-knits's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MoreProgress

I spent the weekend working on the PNS. I thought about working on other things, but became so obsessed with finishing the shawl, that everything else has been pushed to the side. And I'm proud to say that I've gotten the side edging finished and have started on the attached i-cord border for the top edge.

I can't begin to say how many times I ripped and restarted the top border before I finally "got it" and it started to look right. I'm unsure if I've got it loose enough to stretch to the right measurement the pattern calls for. So I'm going to knit a bit more of it, then do some measuring and see where I am. It's easy enough to rip out and redo the edging right now, and the practice won't kill me if I have to do it.

It's great when I figure out a new technique and something makes sense. I enjoy that proverbial lightbulb that clicks on when I finally "get it". As I've said before, the PNS has been a learning experience all the way around. I was fascinated by how the edging was attached to the body of the shawl as it was knit, rather than knit and sewn on. And once I got the hang of it, the attached i-cord is a cool way to finish off an edge and give it stability.

I had to make a fresh batch of Christmas cookies yesterday as well. B had promised some to the neighbors, and I ate the whole first batch. He's been calling me Cookie Monster lately.

9:10 a.m. - December 30, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dangerspouse
milkmaid
idiot-milk
ann-frank