lisa-knits's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Confession

It's time for a confession. I'm a proscrastinator. I hold things off until the last minute, and it is usually my downfall. For instance, on the exchange gifts I was making for my friend S (who has received her gifts, so I can tell the story now), I was going to do one of the "Magic Scarf" things from Oz Yarn, but then I figured that the Berocco Chinchilla I was using wouldn't work that way, so I just made it long and added the ribbon as an afterthought. :) I was making the scarf because my original project had died a dismal death.

What I had originally started out to make was a Christmas Stocking. I was using a pattern from Free Patterns, and Lion Brand Chenille. I made the stocking, which was simple for anyone who has ever made a sock (and if you've seen my Photo Album, you know I've knit socks), and sewed on the hanging loop, and the jingle bells, and then set it aside while I worked on your scarf. Then I realized I needed to get off my butt and mail everything, so I was trying to hurry, and needed to attach the embellishments to the stocking. Well, in my haste, I thought I could use fusible hem tape, and stick them on. Not a good idea. Chenille, heat and fusible tape do NOT mix. :( I melted the holly leaves, and when I tried to take them off, I stripped all the fuzz off the chenille where they'd been attached. It wasn't pretty. And to top it all off, I didn't take pictures of any of the things I sent her.

So, rather than a stocking full of goodies, she got a gift bag made for a wine bottle and one made for a large candle full of goodies.

Moral of the story: for me, the shortcuts usually aren't worth it.

9:57 a.m. - December 23, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dangerspouse
milkmaid
idiot-milk
ann-frank