lisa-knits's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sewing

I've dusted off the sewing machine.

Not much knitting got done yesterday. As a matter of fact, no knitting got done yesterday. Once I got home from work, I spent most of my evening sewing a cloak for L.

I'm making the cloak from a Simplicity pattern, using forest green crushed panne velvet. I'm also going to line the cloak in a complimentary green silk essence fabric. I'm making the white cloak in the picture.

I finished the outer body last night, and began to attach the outer hood, but got too tired, and didn't want to make a mistake, so I stopped. Today, after our dentist appointment, we need to pick up a clasp and then I'll hopefully finish the cloak tonight. L wants to wear it to school tomorrow. This is the girl, after all, whose Christmas wish list includes "a two-handed broadsword, a chainmail tunic and a straightjacket".

One of the hygenists at the dentist's office wants to learn to knit socks. So, I'm going to make up a list of good web sites to point her to, and if she wants, we can meet after the holidays for hands-on lessons. I've never taught anyone to knit, but I'm willing to give it a try.

I actually enjoy going to the dentist now, because the women all enjoy seeing whatever knitting project I'm working on. I've 'inspired' the receptionist to try socks for her grandchildren, and now the hygenist wants to try. It's a pretty nice feeling.

9:35 am - December 19, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dangerspouse
milkmaid
idiot-milk
ann-frank