lisa-knits's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

HolidayBlues

Well, after sleeping until way past noon yesterday, I'm feeling somewhat better. But I'd still rather be sedated until MLK Day. But, since that's not an option, here I am.

I mailed off my exchange gift yesterday, and the line at the post office only took me 1/2 an hour. I didn't get to put everything in the box that I wanted to, but it's only due to my own stupidity.

I've discovered that trying to rush and do things the "quick" and easy way in knitting is an open invitation to disaster. I won't give details yet, because the person hasn't received the gift yet. But it wasn't pretty, and I wanted to kick myself over it.

Otherwise, I've still got the holiday blues, and I'm feeling bitchy. I put too much stress upon myself to make the holidays "perfect", and it never happens. I need to get rid of the unrealistic "Norman Rockwell" type expectations I have of myself, and just learn to enjoy it.

I've been told that I'm not really a beginning knitter, based on the things I've knit, but I'm not sure I agree with that. I still feel like a beginner. I've never actually made a sleeved sweater for me; I've not done intarsia or fair isle knitting; and I'm sure if I thought about it, I could come up with a ton of other reasons I still consider myself a beginning. But, it's nice that others don't see me that way.

10:00 am - December 18, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dangerspouse
milkmaid
idiot-milk
ann-frank