lisa-knits's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Insomnia

Insomnia sucks. I couldn�t sleep at all last night. I think it was the combination of Novocain and epinephrine they use at the dentist�s office. Either that, or it was looming work deadlines. Or it might have been the 2-hour nap I had in the evening. Or it could have been the desire to start a new knitting project, even though I already have nine others in progress.

Let me go back to the beginning. I did manage to finish a second finger on B�s glove yesterday at lunchtime, which is a plus. Then I left the office early to go to my dentist appointment. I don�t really mind the dentist anymore, since several of the ladies who work there are also knitters, and we have a good conversation while I�m in the waiting room. Also, I�d been wearing my Pacific Northwest Shawl yesterday, and got a pile of compliments on it. (Nice to have the ego stroked, isn�t it?) However, my trips to the dentist always involve enough Novocain to make me drool, so there is a downside to my visits.

After I got home, I worked a bit more on B�s glove, but put it down in answer to the call of the latest Wheel of Time book. That didn�t last long either, because I promptly fell asleep. When I woke up, most of the day had already gone by, and the knitting I�d wanted to do, and the work I�d brought home with me sat untouched.

So, when 10:00 rolled around, I decided to just give up and go to bed for the night. But I couldn�t sleep. I tossed and turned for about � an hour, and then finally gave up trying. I grabbed the skein of Helen�s Lace (in the "Jeans" colorway) I�d had waiting, and the Martha Waterman Traditional Knitted Lace Shawls book and cast on for the �Fan Stitch Half-Circle Shawl�. I started with size 6 needles, but didn�t like the drape, so I started over with size 8�s. I finished the first 36 rows, but still couldn�t sleep.

I'm not sure how I like the way the color repeats are stacking up, but I think I'll work on it a bit more before I make a final decision. The pattern is easy enough to rip out and restart with a different yarn if I decide I hate it.

Still feeling the impending work deadlines, I decided to actually go over the papers I�d brought home. There I was at midnight, going over budget submissions and program goals. If that couldn�t cure my insomnia, then nothing would! Sure enough, after about twenty minutes staring at the same sheet of numbers, I finally felt tired enough to go to sleep.

9:37 a.m. - Thursday, Jan. 09, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dangerspouse
milkmaid
idiot-milk
ann-frank